Integrated Road Safety Unit - IRSU

Contact IRSU

Image showing the crests of 13 police agencies and an Integrated Road Safety Unit vehicle.  Crests shown include: Abbotsford Police, Central Saanich Police, Delta Police, Metro Vancouver Transit Police, Nelson Police, New Westminster Police, Oak Bay Police, Port Moody Police, Saanich Police Dept, Vancouver Police, Victoria Police, West Vancouver Police, and the RCMP.

The Integrated Road Safety Unit, more commonly known as IRSU, was formed in 2004 and is made up of over 130 traffic enforcement officers from the RCMP and Municipal Police agencies across the Province. IRSUs are located in the Lower Mainland, Fraser Valley, on Vancouver Island and in the North and Southeast districts of the province.

IRSU’s mandate is to reduce harm on BC roadways. This is accomplished by conducting strategic traffic enforcement in high collision areas in order to reduce the number of serious injury and fatal collisions on our roads. IRSU focuses on the high-risk driving behaviours (seatbelt compliance, speed, impaired, aggressive and distracted driving) which contribute to serious injury and fatal collisions on our roadways. IRSU also focuses criminal interdiction and commercial vehicle enforcement.

The IRSU units were formed to support the E Division Road Safety Vision 2010 initiative. The officers were chosen as they are committed to making British Columbia roads the safest in the world.

Date modified: